Saturday School: Mrs. in Training

Welcome to Saturday School with justjacq.

button

To start off, I asked a few of my favorite bloggers to share a little about their blog and some tips.  I tried to vary the blogs so that I wasn’t getting all fashion blogs or all lifestyle blogs.  All of these bloggers lead full time lives so I am so thankful to them!!

If you’d like to be featured in Saturday School shoot me an email at thejustjacq@gmail.com!  If you have an idea of what you’d like to do then let me know.  If not, we’ll figure it out together. 😉

So without further ado, I’d like to introduce our first teacher.

I can’t remember how I found Kelly from Mrs. in Training, but man am I glad I did!  I jumped on her Spring 30×30 Challenge and have met so many AMAZING bloggers from it.  But back to Kelly.  Her blog is so full of life, fun, fashion, and wisdom.  I was caught up in some old blog posts of hers one day and realized I should have left work 15 minutes ago.  How dare she keep me late at work! 😉

Her Trendy Tot Tuesdays are hilarious, especially when Guinevere models!IMG_4130a

She is one of those women who inspire you to live a fulfilled life every day and show you that a woman can be a mom, full time worker, and go back to school all at once!

_MG_2222-2

1.    What got you started in blogging?

I bought my house in 2008 and wanted to document the process of decorating it and making updates.  I bounced around between  home decor, recipes, parties, etc, and now mostly do fashion-related posts.  But I can’t promise I won’t occasionally feature an updated room 😉

2.    If you wrote a letter to yourself in your early blogging days, what would it say?

Change your name!  I actually hate “Mrs in Training” and am in the middle of a complete redesign with a new name – so stay tuned on a big reveal hopefully this month 😉_MG_2190a

3.    How do you find the time to take the photographs for your blog?  Do you have help?

The time is definitely tough.  Most of mine are on a tripod, which is hard because I can’t get them as focused as I’d like, I’m limited on backgrounds, and its hard to get the detail shots.  Recently a friend who is a photographer has been taking some, which I MUCH prefer!

4.   How do you organize your photographs and blog posts?

For outfit of the day posts, I try to limit my pictures – I hate scrolling through posts with 15 pictures.  I also try to always add in commentary – I do view my blog as a personal record, and like to look back and see what I was thinking and feeling at the time of writing a post._MG_0935

5.    What blogs inspire you the most?

Probably my top four fashion blogs I check right now are Damsel in Dior, Wardrobe Oxygen, Crazy Style Love and Extra Petite – all are very different, but I learn a lot from them (high-end drool-worthy fashion, business of blogging, how to alter clothes, inspirational “edgy” style, etc).

6.    What is your favorite piece of clothing you own, past or present?

I just bought a white studded dress from Asos, and while I haven’t featured it on the blog, I’m super obsessed with it already and can’t wait to have it in a post 😉z3a

Thanks, Kelly!  Be sure to hope on over to Mrs. in Training to see what she and her beautiful baby are up to!  If you’re lame like me and love PowerPoint, you’ll love her posts on how to use PowerPoint as a fake Photoshop!  Ah-maz-ing.  Am I the only one that didn’t think to do this?

signature

 

 

 

 

And don’t forget to head over to Treasure Tromp where I am taking part in a giveaway!  You’ll see my picture on her sidebar!  little ole me on a sidebar!

3 responses to “Saturday School: Mrs. in Training

  1. I hadn’t thought of the power point thing either and felt a little dumb after she pointed it out!

  2. Pingback: Monday Monday | justjacq

Leave a Reply

