Weekend Shenanigans

Hey homies. I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and a fabulous Mother’s Day. I am fortunate to be able to spend the day with my Mom, but family members I recently lost were in my heart as I thought about my cousins who weren’t able to spend time with their Mom’s.

I came across Sami’s Shenanigans‘ Weekend Shenanigans (kind of a tongue twister) on my lovely friend Chelsee’s blog, Southern Beauty Guide, this morning. Home girl and I text and email allllll day long. I was lucky enough to be paired with her for this month’s Cara Box.

Anyhoo, I thought I’d join in the weekend fun since this weekend was Mother’s Day and what better weekend to start writing about?

So I figured I’d write this day by day…

Friday

Omg, for the life of me I CAN NOT remember what I did Friday. Oh wait, now I remember. Woops!

Friday I went and saw my Mumsie perform at the Salsa studio’s 10 year anniversary. That’s right, friends, my Mumsie and Daddy-O dance Salsa. This weekend my Mom danced with her semi-pro team and they were amazing. My lovely lady worked so hard for the past few weeks to feel and look confident and she was amazing. Here is a blurry photo of her because I’m sure she wouldn’t want it all out there for you to see.

20130513-113639.jpg
Basically anywhere you don’t see pink or cheetah is her skin. Yup. Intense.

Saturday

I work in the morning/afternoon at my Dad’s store on Saturdays so I started off my day doing that. I handle marketing and other random office duties like cleaning, organizing samples, and whatever else he throws at me.

Saturday night I babysat three kids I’ve been watching for a few years. The oldest, Peyton is actually in third grade where my Mom teaches third grade so it’s always funny to hear her stories about her teachers. Let me tell you, this babysitting weekend could not have come at a perfect time. I had another insight into 1) why I don’t want kids for a while and 2) how hard it really is and how appreciative we should be of our Moms! Peyton is 8, Jett 5, and Luke almost 1. I felt so bad for Peyton and Jett because Luke needed my attention. I was trying to write them clues for a hunt and for the first 30 minutes, Luke was happily playing with his toys. But then 7:30 hit and Luke was done. He was ready for bed and didn’t want to leave my arms. Peyton and Jett had been patiently waiting for the game but at 7:30 they were ready to play and I couldn’t finish setting it up with Luke in my arms. I felt horrible that the two older ones wanted my attention, and I wanted to give it to them, but I couldn’t because of the baby. I don’t know how you Moms do it. Kuddos to you.

20130513-114608.jpg
I promise I’m not sleeping, it just looks like I am.

Sunday

Mother’s Day!  I always make my Mumsie whatever dinner she wants and so today I had to go to the grocery store to get the items.  Before that I all the sudden got really inspired and determined to get a workout in.  I threw on some clothes and went to the basement to do Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.  I’d done it a few times before but never consecutively on consistently.  At the end of the workout I decided to do it for 30 days straight and to try and do it before work.  I can barely wake up for work so this is tough for me, but I just have to remind myself it is only 30 minutes.

And guess what?  I woke up this morning 😀

Day 1 and 2 are done!  Only 28 more to go!

Finally a cooked a yummy dinner and cake and thus ended my weekend.  Not really shenanigan like but still fun.

signature

 

 

 

 

P.S. I updated my 30×30 Week 1 reveal as promised!  Stay tuned tomorrow for Week 2.

3 responses to “Weekend Shenanigans

  1. Love this 😉
    Looks like you had a pretty great weekend! And your mom salsas! That’s awesome, it’s one of my favorite dances. I wish I were more into it right now, but there’s not a lot of dancing places where I live. Do you dance too!?
    And I love that you call your mom mumsie, that’s what my Grammy called her mom 😉 so sweet.
    I’ll be emailing you shortly girl!
    Go you! That’s awesome you’re doing the shred! I had to halt mine since my living room was being painted last week, but will resume tonight 😉
    xox

    • I danced ballet my whole life and my Mom did too for a bit. I did salsa for a little bit but that stuff is too expensive and I wasn’t committed enough to pay that much money. I’d love to get back into performing again!

      Thanks! I’ll be posting soon about my little challenge actually. Just challenging myself to do it for 30 days but I’m making it public so hopefully it will make me do it!

  2. Pingback: 30×30 Week 2 | justjacq

Leave a Reply

