Time to Share

I always slightly mention/hint at the fact that I’m trying to lose weight.

I’ve been trying for about 7 years now, I swear.

The thing is, I never tried hard enough.

I always felt like I was, but I wasn’t, and deep down I think I knew I wasn’t.

They say that the process will work for you when you are truly ready and determined to put in the work.

I think I am truly ready and determined.

I’ve decided to share this journey more with you to keep me accountable and motivated.

Positive comments and suggestions are appreciated.  Negative comments are just hurtful and unnecessary.

The Plan

– Move everyday

-Eat out less

– Eat clean

– Don’t deny yourself

– Drink water

– Participate in self-imposed and/or collective challenges.

– Track food with Weight Watchers

Easy enough right?

It is easy.

Whenever you ask someone who has gone through a major weight loss how they did it, the answer is ALWAYS I ate less and moved more.  Those who follow that simple plan are the most successful.  So I’m going to follow it too.

I want to post updates here on my ups and downs (hopefully all ups in successes and all downs in weight) but I’m not comfortable sharing the exact numbers.

I just don’t feel it is anyone’s business.

And I think there is an emphasis on numbers when there should be an emphasis on being healthy.

Suffice it to say, I’m not healthy and I want to be.  I’m too heavy for my frame and my clothing size is not the natural size for me.

I will try to remember to take update pics as I’m sure I’ll want/need them too.

I’ll figure out a way to post the weight and inches lost.

I hope you’ll join and support me in this journey.

First challenge?

Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred

Check back for the challenge “rules” and updates!

signature

 

18 responses to “Time to Share

  1. I gained 40 lbs with my last pregnancy and the weight was just not coming off even months after I had her! So, what worked for me was running and I started keeping track of my calories on Spark People. Good luck in your weight loss journey! I love 30 Day Shred… I haven’t done it in awhile, but I was for awhile there!

    • Thanks! I don’t even have a pregnancy to blame. Just too many oreos and not realizing that sitting around all day after years of dancing was going to catch up to me.

  2. this is great, Jacquelyn! I did WW online for a while and thought that tracking my food was REALLY helpful! good luck, girl!

    • My cousins’ Mom is a WW leader and my cousins do it from time to time and recommended it to me. It’s definitely been helpful for me to see how bad some of those innocent foods are. Like 1 tiny chocolate covered caramel from Trader Joe’s (seriously, like tiny malt ball size) is 6 points!

  3. Wait!!! I honestly just started the 30 day shred yesterday! And I just finished day 2 a few minutes ago! She kicks butt, and it’s such a good workout. I stuck with it for a month two summers ago and saw results, but stupidly got lazy and stopped. So proud of your decision to shape up, mentally and physically!!! Your goals are admirable and I wish you the very best! Email me if you wanna be motivation pals! 🙂

  4. If you want a good book that will motivate you on eating right, read the book ‘It Starts With Food’ 🙂

  5. Girl, you can do this. If I can do it (and I DESPISED, LOATHED, ABHORRED exercise), you can!. Like Tony Horton says: do your best and forget the rest; just press play every day and show up. I keep that mantra in my head on my days when I’m feeling unmotivated and it really helps me. Keep pushing play, girl! If you ever are feeling unmotivated and need some encouragement text me! We can motivate each other! :o)

  6. Yes! I’m excited for our dinner. Jillian, Tony…whatever you choose, it’s all about what works for you. I don’t know much about Jillian’s program, but one of the reasons P90X is so successful is because it operates based on muscle confusion. For example, in P90X (the original version), you do three weeks of strength, a week of rest (yoga, stretching and light cardio), then three more weeks of different strength training, etc. The nice thing about that program too is that it has three different tracks (like, you can do classic, lean, or extreme – I did classic). Then there is P90xPlus which isn’t as intense and is more cardio friendly, but still operates on the same muscle confusion principle. It’s not as intense on the strength training bit but is still a great workout. And my favorite thing is that Tony stresses modifying constantly. Despite the fact that I’ve been doing this for over two years, I still suck at pull ups, so I use the bands. There are lots of ways to modify things that are initially too hard. That was nice for me, because it helped me avoid getting frustrated.

    I’m not trying to push P90X (but seriously, I should work for them or something, haha!), I’m just trying to make the point that muscle confusion is key. It’s how you avoid plateau-ing. At no point in any of this did I feel that way; I was always noticing changes either in my appearance or just general endurance. Whatever program you pick, aim for one with that muscle confusion! You gotta confuse the shit out of your muscles to get them to obey! :o)

  7. I can totally relate!! Just posted my before pic but dont’ feel comfortable sharing numbers either. Best of luck!!

  8. Now following you from the bloglovin hop — You are absolutely right that the numbers shouldn’t be focused on. I always encourage folks to focus on how you look, feel, and how your clothes fit — that is the ultimate determination. The key to losing weight isn’t so much eating less as it is eating WELL (clean eating, fewer grains, REAL food, none of that “low-fat/calorie” or diet foods – it’s just a gimmick — you want real food, full-fat dairy (I know it’s counterintuitive, but it’s better for you!), real eggs and good fruits/veggies)…. and it’s not so much just about moving more as it is doing the right moves. You’ll want to incorporate strength training (lifting weights) to help you lose fat. Building muscle (don’t worry, you won’t get bulky — women’s bodies aren’t naturally designed to build bulk like men, and it simply won’t happen, so don’t be afraid of that)… but anyway, building muscle boosts your metabolism helping your body burn more fat. Don’t just do cardio – you won’t see results. Yes, cardio is good and fine, but the muscle building is how you’ll see real results fast. 🙂 Hope you don’t mind my suggestions — this is a side-passion of mine to encourage folks to get healthy!!! 🙂 Congrats on the goal and congrats on making real changes to accomplish it.

    • I don’t mind at all, April! I love getting tips and suggestions. I definitely agree on weight lifting– bulk is not a concern of mine at all. For me, move more means less sitting on my butt and more doing things whether that be cleaning the house, taking a walk, lifting weights, or just standing instead of sitting! I sit wayyyyy to much because I just really love to 😉 I’m posting tomorrow about my challenge and I am looking for one to do after this one. Any suggestions?

  9. Pingback: 30 Day Shred Update 1 | justjacq

Leave a Reply

