30×30: The Reveal

Kelly from Mrs in Training has challenged herself and other bloggers (and non-bloggies!) to join her in a 30×30 challenge this month.  What is it?  30×30 is where you choose 30 items to wear in 30 days and only those 30 items.  The rules are relaxed: you can pick 30 tops, bottoms, layering pieces, shoes, jewelry, whatever you want.  And you can also put a shopping ban on yourself for those 30 days.

When I first read her post I was super excited to do it.  It sounded fun and a great way to reimagine pieces in your closet.  I had kind of done this before when I first moved back home and didn’t have all of my clothing with me, but I didn’t publicize it.  Then as I started thinking more about it, I didn’t want to do it.  It seemed like a lot of work to pick out the 30 items.  I didn’t think I’d have trouble styling them, just picking them.  Finally, as you can tell, I decided to do it.  Peer pressure made me.  Kelly sent an email to people who expressed an interest and some of us started emailing back and forth.  When I said I wasn’t sure I was going to join I was pressured by a few bloggers and I caved.  So blame them that you’re going to be subjected to this adventure.

I’ll be following Kelly’s posting schedule as best as I can:

  • Wednesday, May 1st:  My 30 selected items
  • Wednesday, May 8th:  Days 1-6
  • Tuesday, May 14th:  Days 7-12
  • Monday, May 20th:  Days 13-18
  • Monday, May 27th:  Days 19-24
  • Monday, June 3rd:  Days 25-30

I’ll also be posting my outfits daily on instagram #30×30 so be sure to follow me there! (justjacq)

Instagram

They will be LOVELY iphone mirror photos while the blog posts will hopefully be nice camera photos.

And now, without further ado, the 30 pieces.

jk, explanation first.

I decided to roll with 30 pants, skirts, dresses, tops, and cardis/blazers.  The weather here is still really unpredictable so I wanted to make sure to give myself a lot of options.  I also wanted to include some new pieces I just got and some oldies that I’d like to figure out how to wear more.  I chose not to include shoes in my 30 because, well I really don’t have a good reason.  I just didn’t.  My shoes don’t challenge me; I don’t really think much about what shoes to wear and I don’t worry if they match.  I just throw on whatever I feel like so my shoes don’t really make a difference in my outfit.  And I didn’t include accessories because I didn’t want to limit myself with them.  So there you have it.

And now, the clothes.

jk, again.  haha.  just wanted to give a disclaimer: some of these photos SUCK.  I started taking them when the light was pretty good and then it got dark.  And I don’t feel like editing or cropping.  There you have it.

NOW THE PIECES:

Bottoms:

048

Do you like the bedspread my Mumsie put on my bed?

Loft dark skinnies, Merona jade green crops from Goodwill (whatwhat!), Loft cobalt crops, Loft black work pants

037 038 039 040

Brown, black, and charcoal grey pencil skirts all from The Limited.  Apparently I really like the store.  I also included a close up of the buttons on the black skirt because I love them and it was the whole reason I bought this skirt.

Tops:

These were the hardest to pick.  As I’m writing this I’m still narrowing them down.  I wanted to include colors but lately I find myself gravitating towards black and white shirts.

009 013 016 017 018 019 020 021 029 031 043 044 049

(out of order, sorry!)
Loft b&w peplum
Loft b&w triangles
Loft white sleevless
American Eagle grey plaid
sheer birds
Loft b&w&coral stripes
The Limited jade sleeveless
Express white tank w/flowers
Express purple short sleeves
Old Navy grey t
Target sheer blue floral
Forever 21 turqoise short sleeve

Layering pieces:

027 045 026 024 023 005

(out of order again…)
pink blazer
black blazer
Target tan cardi
Loft beige cardi
Target mint cardi
Old Navy white ivory sweater

Dresses:

036 035 032 008 001
(once more…)
Old Navy navy
black sleeveless
Old Navy turqoise
Target black maxi
Loft ikat

There you have it, my 30 pieces.  Stay tuned for how I put them together!  And for dailies, don’t forget to follow me on instagram @justjacq.



signature

19 responses to “30×30: The Reveal

  1. We have the same old navy grey tee in our challenge picks! haha! Now I’m wishing I had put a couple of cardigans in there…Im gonna be chilly!

    • It’s the perfect neutral and fits so well! I had to include a lot of work pieces so I wanted to make sure I threw in some casuals too… although who am I kidding I wear all of those pieces to work.

  2. Love your pieces, especially the jade green crops. I want some of those! 🙂 I am not following the do not shop during the 30 day period rule… I just won’t wear them until its over (I promise!). 🙂

  3. I love that mint cardi from Target!

  4. I love all your shirt picks!! I really should check out the Loft more!!

    • Thanks! I try to only buy Loft stuff on sale since it is ALWAYS on sale and the regular prices are just too expensive for what you’re getting. I find they always have appropriate clothing for work.

  5. vogueandheels

    Lovely items! I am in love with the colorful clothes and floral shirt!

    -Vogue&Heels
    http://www.vogueandheels.com

  6. coffeebeansandbobbypins@gmail.com

    Ive been wanting to try this, but pretty sure I woudn;t make it through!
    Follow Coffee Beans and Bobby Pins on Bloglovin’

    Enter the Cbiji Collection Giveaway!

  7. Love your Maxi dress! Can’t wait to see what you do with your pieces!!!

  8. I love that you decided to do this, and that you’ve been so motivated!! Can’t wait to see your outfits!!

  9. Pingback: MIA | justjacq

  10. Pingback: 30×30 Week 2 | justjacq

  11. Pingback: Monday Monday | justjacq

Leave a Reply

