First Day Jitters!

Right now, as this publishes, I’m in the middle of my first day of my new job.  I’m writing this post the night before.  Sitting on my bed, having already picked out my first day outfit, I’m thinking about where this new chapter in my life is going to take me.  I’d like to think it means good things that I’m starting on Valentine’s Day.

I’m excited and skittish.  I’m entering a new field, but doing a job I’ve done before so I’m confident and nervous all at the same time.

I was laid off in December from my job as a sales representative for a college textbook publishing company.  I had known for a bit that it was coming so I was prepared.  And I wasn’t completely happy in the job so I was ready for it.  What I wasn’t ready for was the loss of a paycheck, company car, and other benefits.  Fortunately, I found a new job pretty quickly and didn’t struggle too much.

I had to move back in with my parents because the commute from Bethlehem to Princeton was too many miles to put on my lease.  So I’m back in my childhood bedroom and while I know it is good financially, it’s not so good for adulthood.  I know I’m not the only 26 year old that had to do this, but knowing that doesn’t always help.  I’ve been working hard these past two weeks to make this an easy transition for all of us.  So far, so good.

I hope this new job takes me in the right direction.  I’m really excited to join the financial industry and to possibly go in a new direction.  I’m happy to be working in an office again.  And I’m so glad to be back in my hometown with all of my friends and family.

So as this post publishes, I’m probably sweating through my shirt with nerves, jittery with nervousness over trying to impress everyone and learn things quickly, and trying to hold back smiles over my excitement.

🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

