The Simple Way to Being Happy

Okay, continuing the life is simple theme, let me give another example.

(How did I come up with the life is simple theme?  From my complimentary coaching session with Joanna at Cup of Tea Coaching!)

I’ll admit the last example was complicated.  My explanation and rationale was complicated.  But that’s because it was exactly what was growing through my mind.  I wasn’t filtering.  I didn’t edit.  I wrote it exactly how it came out.  Now for a more simple example.

– I want to be happy.  Doesn’t everyone?  I want to be happy.  Saying it (or writing it) is harder than you think.  Why?  Because you’re admitting that you might not be happy.  Incredibly vulnerable.  But what is happy?  It’s different to different people and again, we over complicate it.  We try to think of the ultimate way to be happy.  Of what is going to make us happy forever.  Of what is going to make not just us happy, but everyone around us too.  Let’s simplify it.  What makes me happy?  Here are 5 quick things that came to my mind right away.

1.  Having things clean and organized.  Can’t deny it, I am my mother’s child.
2. Being around people.
3. Being healthy.
4. Making people happy (I know I said before that we complicate it by thinking of other people, but what do we do when making other people happy is what makes us happy too?)
5. Being creative.

Now for the simple answers.  No complications.

1. Clean up!  Put the clothes away.  Do the laundry.  Wash the dishes.  But remember that a clean house shouldn’t get in the way of other things.
2. Get out of the house.  Write and read at Barnes and Noble.  Walk around the mall.  Invite friends over for dinner.
3. That walk around the mall is exercise!  Going to the gym also puts you around other people.  Cleaning is exercise too (yes Mom, I have been listening all this time).
4. Send a card to a friend.  Help a stranger load their groceries into their car.  Call someone you haven’t spoken to in a while.  Tell your parents you love them.
5. Write.  Do a craft.  Make a gift for someone.  I also consider reading to be a creative outlet.

The best thing about that simple list?  So many of my answers solve multiple problems.  By making a gift for someone I am being creative and making someone happy.  By inviting friends over for dinner I am being around others, being creative, and making people happy.

It’s simple.

What makes you happy?

signature

One response to “The Simple Way to Being Happy

  1. The Christmas card I just got from my friend Jacquelyn, for one thing! Miss you, girlfriend. I can catch up in 26 hours when my last seminar paper is handed in. xoxox

Leave a Reply

