Trend of the Month Challenge

Hi friends!  I’ve gone through a little poopoo patch and haven’t been motivated to put together cute outfits so I thought I’d participate in Marion Berry’s Trend of the Month Challenge.  And this month… animal prints!

Okay, I’m not a big animal print wearer, or lover even.  I admire those who wear it and wear it well but I think there is a fine line between this

  
Source                                                                 Source

and this


Source

I just can’t help but think of Fran Drescher as The Nanny when I think of animal print.

Obviously not everyone takes it to the level that that character did, but there is definitely a line that is easy to cross.

Since I am so scared of animal print, the only thing I own that is animal print is a cheetah scarf.  I happen to get a lot of compliments on that scarf so I’m rather proud of it.  (as I write this I realize there is a shirt in my closet that might count as animal print but a very subtle one).

With that said, here is my animal print challenge result.  Be kind!

I worked with what I had in my closet, and have had in my closet for many years, and put this together in less than a day.  I was also working with the ever changing weather in Pennsylvania right now.  48 degrees when you leave for the morning and 73 in the midafternoon.  I also have to layer carefully for my job and make sure that all pieces are appropriate to wear as the layering comes off.

Sweater: Ann Taylor Loft bought on sale many years ago.  Similar
Dress: Target bought many years ago.  Similar
Boots: Target bought a few years ago.  Similar
Earrings: Odette Hoops, $39
Ring: Stackable Deco Rings, $49
Scarf: bought at a flea market for $5! Similar

What would you have done differently?  How do you like to layer for fall?

I had fun with this challenge!  I can’t wait for next month’s!!

12 responses to “Trend of the Month Challenge

  1. See, now, you’ve always struck me as the kind of person who could rock the animal print if you wanted to. And this has just proven me right. Could you see me in one, though? Bahahaha. Not so much.

    • Thanks!! I’m actually not a huge animal print person. Idk… I don’t even think it reflects my personality that much. I think I need to do some serious reflection on this!
      And I can totally see you in a subdued gray and black animal print. We can make this happen!
      Maybe we should both challenge ourselves to get an animal print top this Fall/Winter.

  2. Loving your animal print! I found your blog at Marionberry Style Link-Up. I am now following you. Come over and check me out http://theserenasaga.blogspot.com.
    xx
    Serena

  3. Love it! Great redheads think alike! Love the picture of the nanny….ha!

  4. I love this look!! Everything goes so well. And you wear it so well! You look fab 🙂

  5. First off, the Nanny reference totally made me laugh out loud! Animal print CAN be so Jersey! I personally love how you rocked it in just a simple accessory. It’s the perfect touch 🙂
    Thanks so much for linking up Jacquelyn!
    XO – Marion

  6. I’m from Jersey so I think we’re born in animal print onesies, however I wasn’t a big fan of animal prints until a couple of years ago. It’s such a fun print and it looks great on you! You should try to get shoes…trust me, you’ll love them!
    xx,
    Diana
    City and Burbs

  7. Pingback: Lace | justjacq

Leave a Reply

