Legspiration

I’ve written before about how I don’t like my legs and have used my cankles as motivation.  And the other day I shared how even though I am still not happy with my legs, I now am in awe at what they can do and use my respect for them as motivation.

When I was using my cankles as motivation it was when the treadmill was facing a mirror and I saw my legs straight on, which is not a flattering angle.  My newest thing now is getting on a treadmill where the mirror is to the side and I can see my legs working the whole time.  When I feel like I’m going to fall over and I’m going to die, I glance to the side and see my muscles moving in my calves.  For some of you this might not be something you’ve ever considered watching because you’ve always been able to see the legs in your muscles move (I used to be able to see it when I was a dancer) or you’ve never struggled through running.  But for someone who went from struggling through 30 seconds of running to 10 minutes of running, seeing those muscles move is amazing.

I tried capturing the experience on my phone and almost tripped on the treadmill.  And of course this was on one of the days when my admirer was at the gym doing the stair climber for his normal 2 hours.  He laughed.  So I paused the treadmill and took a picture without killing myself and when I looked at the photo I thought “hey those stems aren’t looking too shabby.”  I haven’t measured my legs since January and I don’t know if I’m actually losing inches or if it is just my improved outlook on my legs, but I’m pretty proud of them!

What do you use for motivation? 

 

Don’t forget to donate to my first 5k!

 

P.S. Guess what is one of my most popular posts?  The cankles!

2 responses to “Legspiration

  1. The joys and mishaps of the treadmill.

Leave a Reply

