I kicked 5.3’s butt!

Yesterday was beautiful in Doodlehem, PA.  The birds were chirping, the sun was shining, and the wind was blowing ever so slightly.  I woke that morning, went to Kutztown and relished in the fact that my job allows me to be outside on such wonderful days instead of stuck inside at a computer.  Sara (thefirecat) had texted me earlier asking if I wanted to join her in a run and without thinking I replied yes.  It had been a few days since I tried to get through run 5.3 in the Couch to 5k program and I hadn’t been able to conquer it after 2 attempts.  Run 5.2 took me 3 attempts so I wasn’t too discouraged yet.  I knew that running outside in gorgeous weather with Sara by my side to stop me from stopping was the key to winning.  When I got home I quickly scarfed down a late, late lunch (more like linner) and immediately fell into a food coma.  I made the mistake of eating on my bed and after my tuna fish salad sandwich I kept scrunching down on the bed until before I knew it, I was in the fetal position with the blankets pulled up to my head.  No idea how that happened.  Now came the ultimate dilemma.  Do I lie here, enjoy some Friends, and veg out or do I get my lazy butt out of bed, slap on some sunscreen, and meet Sara at the canal.  Fortunately for my 5k and waistline, I chose the latter.

And I did it!

I finally completed run 5.3!!

Honestly one of the best feelings I have had in a long time.  I am amazed at myself and my body each and every time I accomplish one of these runs.  I am amazed and so proud of how far I’ve come and a little scared of how far I have yet to go.  One of the best revelations on our run was realizing that the last time Sara and I ran on the canal was in January when I could barely run 2 minutes.  We were bundled up, I even had to go get new clothes to wear because I had nothing appropriate for running in 20 degrees, and she was kindly keeping to my running schedule allowing me to build up slowly.  And again, she showed such patience and kindness in keeping with my slow pace as I completed 10 minutes at a snail’s pace.  There is nothing like running with someone who knows how much hard work it takes to get to where you are.  Thanks Sara!!!

What is something you’ve accomplished lately that meant so much?  Do you like to run alone or with someone? 

Don’t forget to enter the blog’s first giveaway!

Please donate to support my first 5k!  The money goes to a very worthy cause!!

2 responses to “I kicked 5.3’s butt!

  1. Woop woop!! Way to go, girl!!

  2. Pingback: Slow and steady wins the race | justjacq

Leave a Reply

