Farmers Market Saturday

Sorry, I forgot to take pictures.  I should have.  Bad blogger.  See, today I went to the Allentown Farmers’ Market with two new Bethlehem friends, Megan and Caitlin.  I was excited to go and get some fresh veggies for my veggie soup I’ll be making tomorrow (look for the post!) and to spend time trolling the booths.  Megan kept talking about a mean Mediterranean food booth that had awesome salads and couscous so I was excited to stop by there and pick up some prepared foods for today’s lunch and dinner.  And I love perusing the lovely veggie stands with all the bright colors, fresh foods, and endless possibilities.  And of course, you might pass by a delicious baked goods stand that you just have to stop at and get the most yummtastic cupcake.  With all of these wonders in my mind and excitement built up I was a little sad to get there and see the overabundance of meat stands.

This is a farmers market, right?  Where farmers come to market their foods and people come to buy said foods?  There were about 3 fresh veggie and fruit stands and about 10 meat stands.  I started to get annoyed passing by all the meat stands.  A few is acceptable.  But how many meat stands can one farmers market need?  And then I remembered I’m in the Lehigh Valley where vegetarians, vegans, and quesitarians are not the norm.  But, ew, gross.

However, I was not disappointed in the variety of prepared food stands.  There was a delicious looking Mexican stand where Caitlin picked up some foods.  And a wonderful cheese stand where Megan was swayed by the samples set out.  And, of course, the bakery where I got a wonderful Peanut Butter and Chocolate cupcake.  Yummmm.  (I wish they had put a business card or sticker on the bag because I can’t remember their name!  But I will return to the farmers market for more).  The Mediterranean stand was all Megan (and Caitlin confirmed upon arriving) promised.  I got a delicious veggie something (can’t remember the name!), a Mediterranean salad mix, and a spinach and feta something.  Damn, I’m really bad at this.  I scarfed it down, I guess that’s all that matters!

All in all, it was a good day and fun to get out with new friends, but I hate to say I was disappointed in the fresh foods selection.  I got my veggies for my soup but I might stick to the grocery store… unless I find a better farmers market!

Anyone in the Bethlehem area know of any good farmers markets?  Have you ever been disappointed or surprised by what was at a farmers market?

Leave a Reply

