Cashew, Tofu, and Broccoli Stir-Fry

One of my favorite cookbooks is the Flat Belly Diet Cookbook.  The idea behind it is healthy, delicious, easy-to-prepare meals, that follow their flat belly diet plan.  While I don’t follow the FBD plan I do like that every meal includes a MUFA.  What is a MUFA you ask?

MUFAs (pronounced moo-fah) are monounsaturated fatty acids, plant-based fats found in some of the world’s most delicious foods–avocado, nuts and seeds, oils, olives, and dark chocolate! Studies show that these good-for-you fats enhance heart health and protect against chronic disease. And now the latest research shows that these dietary superstars may even target fat where it’s hardest to lose–in your belly! (source)

The MUFA’s are also what helps us feel full after eating which is awesome for me because I am always hungry an hour after eating.  If I eat a MUFA meal, the hunger isn’t there as much.  Most of the meals I make come from the FBDCookbook and now they came out with a new cookbook, the Flat Bell Diet Family Cookbook.  I love that there are new recipes for me to try and they are geared towards getting everyone in your family to eat healthy.  Although I don’t have a family of my own, it is hard to cook for my parents when my dad needs meat with every meal and I try not to eat meat.  The first meal I made from the new cookbook is the Cashew, Tofu, and Broccoli Stir-Fry.  DELICIOUS!  It was approved by my Mom (but she approves anything that anyone makes for her) and would have been approved by my dad had it been made with chicken instead of tofu.  The recipe can be found here and below.

  • 1 container (14 ounces) firm light tofu
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch add to shopping list
  • 3 cups broccoli florets
  • 3 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup unsalted cashews
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice

I like to chop all of my vegetables for cooking so that everything is prepared and ready to go!

  1. Drain your tofu by placing the tofu on a paper towel on a dinner plate, then put another paper towel or two on top, another dinner plate on top of that, and stack heavy objects on the very top.  I like to use giant tomato sauce cans.  Leave it to press for 20 minute.
  2. In the meantime, start your brown rice cooking.  Start a pot of boiling water for the broccoli. Combine the soy sauce, honey, vinegar, and cornstarch in a small bowl.
  3. Add the broccoli to the boiling water, return to a boil, and cook for 1 minute, or until bright green. Drain and set aside.
  4. Transfer the tofu to a cutting board and cut into 1/2″ to 3/4″ cubes. Heat 2 teaspoons of the sesame oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the tofu and cook, stirring occasionally, for 4 to 5 minutes, or until lightly golden. Transfer the tofu to a plate and set aside.
  5. Heat the remaining 1 teaspoon oil in the skillet. Add the pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, for 1 minute. Add the ginger and garlic and cook for 30 seconds, or until fragrant. Stir in the broccoli and tofu, and cook for 1 1/2 minutes, or until hot. Stir the soy sauce mixture to recombine and add to the skillet along with the cashews. Cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Remove from the heat and stir in the scallions. Serve over the rice.

 

 

 

 

 Enjoy!

4 responses to “Cashew, Tofu, and Broccoli Stir-Fry

  1. oy, that pan of tofu is making me hungry! def need to pick some up ASAYesterday! Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  2. i am so inspired by this cooking post…. though i doubt it will actually spur any action… having a free meal plan these days is just too easy — can you imagine having access to a fresh salad bar and fresh hummus every day? i swear, i took it for granted ten years ago during undergrad!

    • Food wasn’t so desirable at Penn State Berks but I did take advantage of the salad bar! I’ll admit though it was nice to go in and grab a PB&J already made and waiting for you, or to order a custom panini, or grab a soup and salad. But I do always remember wishing I could cook every once in a while. Your food plan sounds better than mine… hummus… I never remember hummus at PSU Berks. I’m jealous! Can I come over for some hummus?

Leave a Reply

