Gettin’ Buff!

Yesterday I completed the first week of The Fitnessista’s Bridal Bootcamp.  Now I know I’m not a bride but as my friend Rachel pointed out, you don’t need to be a bride to do this workout routine.  I began Week 1 on Wednesday, August 24 (the brother’s birthday actually!) and did it every other day (except Sunday because of the Hurricane!).  On the in between days I am working on the Couch to 5K app.  I will complete Day 2 of Week 2 of C25K today and start BBC2 tomorrow.

After day 1 of BBC1 I was so sore I couldn’t imagine how I was going to do a run that day and complete BBC1 day 2 the next.  It’s not that the bootcamp is majorly difficult, but my goodness does it work some muscles!  Especially muscles that I never use, never workout, and never feel.  Well, I was feeling them the next day!  When I woke up on what was day of BBC1 I was worse than the day before but was determined that I would complete day 2 after work.  Weirdly, by noon that day I felt fine and the soreness had gone away for the most part.  I really enjoyed the BBC1 routine because it kept me moving.  If I don’t have a sequence of moves to do I get lost and after only doing a few machines I think I’ve done enough.  This routine kept me from stopping because I knew how many items I had left to complete and felt accomplished at the end.

Now for the good news… I lost 3 pounds this week!  Yay me!!

This will be me in a few months

Gina organizes BBC1 in supersets.  What this means is that each superset contains at least two moves that you’ll completely quickly, resting for about 15-20 seconds in between each superset.  You complete superset 1, rest, and repeat superset 1 until you’ve done that 3 times.  Then move on to superset 2.  Complete each move, rest, and repeat the superset.  I liked this setup because it kept me from getting bored by doing one move three times in a row and it kept me moving across the gym.  She incorporates a cardio set every so often and gets your heart pumping!  BBC2 is organized as a circuit which means you’ll complete 1 set of each move and then return to the top and repeat again.  I don’t know if I’ll like this one as much.  I go to the gym right after work so it is pretty busy and sometimes hard to get a certain machine or spot on the floor.  That might mess up my circuit and frazzle me.

If you’d like a copy of my cheat spreadsheet for the weeks I’d be happy to send them to you.  Just comment below with your email address and I’ll send them on out!

Have you done a bootcamp you enjoy?  What’s your favorite way to workout?

Leave a Reply

