The Help

The Help

I recently just finished The Help and let me tell you, not at all what I expected. No way. For some reason, I had it in my mind that The Help was about women using meditation to bond and get through life. Don’t ask me why. Maybe it was because I was at the height of my Yoga phase when the novel came out; maybe it was the tranquil cover with birds reminded me of peace; maybe I’m just dumb.

Although the content wasn’t what I expected, it was beyond my expectations. I loved it. I finished this 464 tome in three days. Quite an accomplishment if I do say so myself. My body definitely suffered with this speedy reading. I was up past midnight every night (my normal bedtime is 9:30). It was worth it.
The novel follows three women, two of which are black maids and one a 23-year-old white woman who recently graduated college and is set during the civil rights movement in Jackson, Mississippi. Short summary, but I’d rather you read more to find out.
I will say that I love the way Kathryn Stockett weaves each woman together as they each narrate separate portions of the book. She ties their lives together in more than just one way. Each woman experiences similar experiences and works together to build something more for themselves.
Highly suggest, definitely a number 1 recommend!

Leave a Reply

