Baby Owl Pillow

My first big girl job was sales support associate.  In that role I supported sales representatives in the mid-atlantic and Canada regions.  That position allowed me to learn from so many successful representatives and I was fortunate enough to have two of them write me letters of recommendations when I was applying for the position I have now with the company.  One of those reps has become my friend and mentor so I was super excited when I found it she is having a baby boy.  I wanted to give her a gift and make it something special.  So of course I whipped out my embroidery tools and made her a pillow.

I followed the same process I did with Emily’s pillow and am so happy with the results.

I found the image here and I cut out the baby bird I wanted and taped it the branch so that I could outline the back with the iron transfer pen.  Want to know how?

(I was debating between that one and this one but went with the above image.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made the pillow olive green after Jen told me the colors of her baby’s room and I chose the owls because of the nursery theme: woodland friends.  Too cute!!

I made an envelope backed pillow cover using Martha Stewart’s instructions.  Love my Martha!

The embroidery floss colors were chosen to be bright, cherry, and boyish.

Pinks for the Mama Bird.

Blues for the Baby Bird.

Brown tree branches.

And a brighter green for the leaves (sorry for the dark picture).

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out!

Stitches Used:

- Owl outlines and branches: Back Stitch

- Owls’ beaks, Mama Owl’s circles, and Baby Owl’s stripes: Satin Stitch

- Leaves: Split Stitch

If you’d like me to make you a pillow, let me know!  Prices range depending on the image.  Contact me for more information!

6 responses to “Baby Owl Pillow

  1. Pingback: Milo Pillow | justjacq

  2. Pingback: Rachel & Scott | justjacq

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Owls! (DIYs and Recipes, too!)

  4. Pingback: New Year! | justjacq

  5. Pingback: MIA | justjacq

Leave a Reply

